YALLFest Recap & (a very late) November TBR

I’m back and ready to do some serious damage to my reading and writing goals for the remainder of the month. Last week was… difficult, to say the least, so by the time Friday rolled around I was more ready than ever for book-themed mini-vacation.

I had no idea what to expect going in to YALLFest and the whole event was a whirlwind. The schedule was jam-packed full of signings, panels, and giveaways. Deciding which events to jump in line for when was difficult (because naturally I was dying to do everything), but it was so much fun to be part of the chaos and excitement. I got to meet Adam Silvera, Libba Bray, and Sabaa Tahir, who wrote some of my favorite reads from this year. I also picked up a few ARCs of books that come out in early 2017, all of which I’ve been anticipating for months already and I’m so excited to have the opportunity to dig in to them early!

image2

YALLFest was a great experience over all and I’m so happy I was able to attend this year. Most importantly, I will never be in need of a spare tote bag again.

Now that we’re midway through November, I guess I could like you all know what I’ve been reading this month. I had a bit of a slow start but once work and life calmed down and I had some time to pick up a book, I decided that this month it’s FINALLY time for me to jump in to some of the series I’ve been pushing aside all year.

image1

I grabbed Six Of Crows first and I have been completely hooked from the start. I’ve heard from countless Leigh Bardugo fans that this is her crown jewel, and although I haven’t read the Grisha Trilogy (nor do I plan to) I know that to be true. The world she has built and the characters we’re introduced to in Six of Crows are unlike anything else I’ve encountered in YA Fantasy and I LOVE this book. I’m about halfway through, and finding it impossible to put this one down.

Next I’ll finally be getting to Sabaa Tahir’s A Torch Against the Night. I received an ARC of this one back in July and still hadn’t read An Ember In the Ashes (which I now have read and loved) at that point. I won’t be putting the sequel off any longer – even though I know waiting for the third installment will be impossible.

The last book I’ve planned to read this month is Throne of Glass. I’ve heard incredibly mixed reviews of this series as a whole, although most seem to agree that the first in the series is definitely worth reading. I’m pretty sure I won’t end up continuing with the series in its entirety, but I at least want to give Throne of Glass a shot since it’s been sitting on my shelf for over a year.

That’s it for now! The downside of a weekend trip is that there’s zero time left to relax and do nothing before the next work week begins. I’ll be spending the remainder of the evening in a blanket cocoon with my face buried in Six Of Crows. Until next time. -S

Leave a Reply

